cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution

Wordpress managed versus User managed websites?

I hope I can express my question clearly to explain my thoughts. I am trying to create an online tutoring business. I am an Engineer, and have coded a good amount. Over the past few months I have been learning CSS, HTML, Javascript, and node.js. I feel that I have a good backbone for creating what I need to. Now, my question is regarded to management/security of websites. I hear from many people that having a wordpress managed hosting provider makes things a lot better, and I understand why so if you don't want to have to get into the guts of web development to do so. But how specifically can having a wordpress managed website provide security over a home server with an SSL certificate hung over my website? How specifically, as well, would having a "managed host" allow me to better manage my files? I don't see anybody on the back end dynamically changing my website, so how really do godaddy staff "manage" my host better than I could?

I hope this makes sense, and am hoping for maybe a developer's answer so I can get somebody's opinion that has tried both home-server vs wordpress managed. Thanks!

1 REPLY 1
Rockstar II Rockstar II
Rockstar II
Solution

Re: Wordpress managed versus User managed websites?

That's kind of a big leap, it's really a two part question of Managed vs not for WordPress in addition to using a service or self-hosting.