cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Go to solution

Where to find Wordpress folders on server

I'm looking for my content(images) that I've uploaded. I've gone through the "File Manager" on GoDaddy and can't seem to locate them. They are just the standard Wordpress files... what am I missing?

7 REPLIES 7
Advocate VI Advocate VI
Advocate VI

Re: Wordpress folders on server

Images will be under /wp-content/uploads, and organized by year and month. 

Lisa, thank you but I have no folder called uploads.

First let me state that I have been contracted to due some updates for a client, so I did not set up the original site. Second, I'm weak when it comes to Wordpress. Third, I've been developing sites for my clients since 2001 so I do feel comfortable around an FTP site or CMS.

Thank you once again for your time and help.

Advocate VI Advocate VI
Advocate VI
Solution

@SirBubba, I don't know what else to tell you. That's where images go if you upload them in WordPress.  I have built about 200 WordPress sites, pretty sure that's where images are on all of them.

If you did not create the site, and someone else uploaded the images via FTP, it's certainly possible that they put them in another directory, but wp-content/uploads is the standard -- so it is unclear why they would choose another one.

Is it possible that the permissions on that folder are wrong, so you can't see it?

Also, if it's a very old version of WordPress, maybe an update will fix it (be sure to run a backup first). 

And finally, I wonder if there is a plug-in that is somehow hiding this folder?

There are other WordPress developers on this forum, maybe someone else has an idea.