cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
New

Add a Web Application

Hi, All

I am ready to tear my hair out! I hope someone can help.

I'm trying to add a web application to my wordpress site. All the support postings tell me to use buttons that I just can't find in my dashboard (popular apps? where is that!?).

I'm not a developer of any sort, so I'm sure my lack of knowledge is the problem.

I've loaded all the files using a file upload widget - which was a real joy, given the size limits.

I thought maybe the problem was that I already have Wordpress running, so I decided to maybe delete it. But I couldn't find the buttons they described in the help area.

Here's what my app builder says to do. Any thoughts on how to proceed are very helpful! 

Open Internet Information Services (IIS) Manager on the web server.

Create a new Application Pool in IIS.

Create a new Website in IIS using the Folder and Application Pool created in the previous steps.

Grant Modify permissions on the App_Data folder for the Application Pool you setup in the previous steps.
a. Right-click on the App_Data folder and select Edit Permissions.
b. Click on the Edit button on the App_Data Properties dialog.

Click on the Add button on the Permissions for App_Data dialog.
d. Enter IIS AppPool\YOURAPPLICATIONPOOLNAME in the text box and then click the OK button

Select the Application Pool from the Permissions App_Data dialog and then click on the check box next to Modify.
f.Click on the OK button for each dialog until all the dialogs are closed.
8. You're all done! Open a browser and navigate to http://YOURUNIQUEDOMAINNAME.

5 REPLIES 5
New

Re: Add a Web Application

Those instructions sound like they are for adding the web app to your own Windows server. I doubt they'll apply to goDaddy as you usually don't have access to anything that low level.